Subtitled: Squeeze Tight

I have a friend who is not a hugger, at all! Unfortunately for him, his daughter is. Sometimes she’ll walk up to him and say, “Hug!” so he’ll do it. This is most often followed though by the daughter saying, “Squeeze tight!” You see there are moments in life when we just need to be held.

Maybe it’s just me, but there are times that I picture myself sitting on God’s lap, saying “Hug, squeeze tight!” I confess to Him that I really really don’t know what He is doing, but acknowledge Him as Father. A Father that really does know best. Even though our finite minds can’t fathom the craziness sounding us, that doesn’t negate that it makes perfect sense in the grand design.

It’s been a rough few days for me. Since Sunday afternoon I’ve been trying to process the phrase “You give and take away” from a praise song I’ve sung many times but am only now beginning to internalize. The next phrase says, “My heart will choose to say, Lord, blessed be Your Name.” Sure, it’s easy to praise and sing when He is in the giving stage. But what does our heart truly say during those taking away portions of life? I’m not talking about the “they had a good and long life” taking away though that is painful as well. I’m talking about the freak car accidents, the medical procedures gone wrong, etc. – what do our hearts say then?

Tonight my heart simply says, I’m hurting. Squeeze tight. But despite the tears and heartache, I know that He is the Father who loves and works for good. I don’t get it. I really don’t get it. But I trust it. “Blessed be Your Name.”


As I drove home tonight I tried processing the events of the last five days and two separate hurting families I know. I realized I had to write because this is my therapy (along with the ice cream in my freezer!) So if you’ve read this far, please know that if this blog spoke to you then Praise Him, but in truth, I wrote this one for me.

Leave a Reply

